Skip to content

Currency Codes

Currency codes - the three-letter or (three-digit numeric for ISO 4217) code for each currency. The 3-letter alphabetic currency code is composed of the ISO 3166 two-letter country code plus an extra character (in general the first letter of the country's official currency) to denote the unit.  The responsible authority for the domestic currency is usually the national Central or Reserve Bank. Major examples include USD for US Dollar, EUR for Euro, GBP for Pounds Sterling, JPY for Japanese Yen, AUD for Australian Dollar, CNY for onshore Chinese Renminbi, INR for onshore Indian Rupee, RUB for onshore Russian Rouble, ZAR for South African Rand, BRL for Brazilian Real.